Butterfly Footprints

The hospital isn’t a great place to set up for a Mom Son craft project, especially a messy one. Mother’s day was the perfect occasion to get my creativity going again with a super fun project with August.

DSC07646

First we gathered our supplies:

  • Receiving blanket you don’t care much about to protect the floor
  • Make-up sponges to dab the paint
  • Regular non-toxic acrylic craft paint
  • Paper towels, damp towels, and baby wipes for clean up
  • Paper
  • Happy Baby (or sleeping baby)

In the hospital when I did his tiny hand print on a baseball I covered his hand in petroleum jelly before adding the paint so it would wipe off more easily. I tried this again, but since we made a bunch, it didn’t do much. And his skin is not as delicate, so the baby wipes alone were sufficient.

DSC07652

I wanted a variegated color look – so we dabbed yellow to green to blue with the make-up sponges on his feet. The more paint the better they came out.

DSC07647It took a few tries to get good at it – but after about 5 foot prints we became pros and made a bunch to mail out as Mother’s day cards to the Great Grandmothers, Grandma Kearney, and Memaw.

DSC07653

All done. I actually had more paint on my arms from August kicking me than he had on his feet and legs! I think it helped that he hasn’t discovered his feet yet. I’d imagine this would be much more difficult with a baby who is reaching for their feet.

IMG_3574

I just used a black sharpie to free hand the butterfly bodies and antennas.

IMG_3579

A comparison of his five month footprints to his one week footprints.Β The quarter helps with scale – his toes were so tiny!

Leave a Reply

